Distinguished Service Awards

The Distinguished Service Awards are the most prestigious awards given by Special Olympics Montana.  Nominations are received from Special Olympics Montana volunteers, coaches, parents, and athletes. A selection committee is appointed to review the submissions and is charged with the difficult task of selecting a winner in each award category.


There are 8 categories including the following: Athlete of the Year, Adult Volunteer of the Year, Coach of the Year, Hall of Fame, Family of the Year, Local Program of the Year, Youth Volunteer of the Year, and Unified Champion School of the Year.

Nominations now open for 2022 Distinguished Service Awards!

2021 Distinguished Service Award Winners

Athlete of the Year

DJ Jackson

Missoula, MT

Coach of the Year

Paige Flotkoetter

Billings Schools

Volunteer of the Year

Lisa Hunter

Deer Lodge, MT

Unified Champion School of the Year

Carroll College

Helena, MT

Family of the Year

Redeen Family

Great Falls, MT

Youth Volunteer of the Year

Bethany Butler

Polson, MT

Local Program of the Year

Purple Hornets

Great Falls, MT

Hall of Fame

Terri Siefke

Kalispell, MT